The Sermoonjoy Scholarship Fund!!!

The Sermoonjoy Fund Auditions will return in May of 2023.  Have a great summer and kick off to the 2022-2023 school year.  Check back in March 2023 to ​download next year's application to the left, and for instructions on how to get ready for audition day.

The Sermoonjoy Scholarship Fund awards 2 annual scholarships to Kinder High School for the Performing and Visual Arts (“HSPVA”) Theatre Department seniors who will pursue the performing arts as part of their higher education studies. The Scholarship award is up to $3,000 annually based on need, which will continue through undergraduate school as long as the recipient maintains a B average by the end of each school year in academics as well as in their art area. This scholarship can total up to a $12,000 award per recipient. Need is determined if a student has a tuition and/or dormitory housing financial insufficiency after the students’ financial plan has been set by the institution. The 2 awarded candidates will be selected with the help of the HSPVA Friends program, the HSPVA Theatre Department faculty and a representative from the Sermoonjoy Scholarship Fund.

Eligibility requirements for this scholarship are:

  • graduating HSPVA Theatre Department seniors with at least a total C average
  • has not been awarded any other scholarship through HSPVA
  • will pursue a college education in the Performing Arts
  • based on financial need

This scholarship will require:

  • application
  • talent audition
  • personal essay pertaining to goals in the performing arts
  • HSPVA faculty letter of recommendation

All awards are made payable directly to the recipient’s educational institution through the California Community Foundation on behalf of The Sermoonjoy Scholarship Fund.
Contact with any questions.

Click here to download
application starting
March 1, 2023

Congratulations past recipients!!!!!!!


​Rebecca Lembcke

Olutomilola Akinwande

Charlotte Stallings
McKenna Leach


Peyton May

​Alana Bright


Emma McDonough
Maya Perez

Jacob M Castillo
Callie K Holley

Ronson Hawkins
Elizabeth Carr

Kelsey Cartwright 
Danielle L Troiano

Jessica Stevens

Viviel Bohler

Rachel McPherson
Jacob Seferian

Keenan Hurley
Robert Attal

Gabriela Diaz
Tikia Hudson

Paige E. Seber
Veronica Long

Emma Martinsen

Phillip "Boo Boo" Young

Nicole Olayinka Dele
Micah Antoine Pushia

James McBride
Brian James